The Day Zero Project; or, 101 Things in 1001 Days

Have I ever told you how much I love list-making?

Truly, I should write a ballad about it. Because I really like lists.

The newest one comes courtesy of the Day Zero Project, which is equal parts personal challenge, online community, and list-lover glory. The idea is that you develop a list of 101 things you would like to complete or achieve in a 1001 day time-frame. (Ok, there’s more to it than that, but I’ll leave you to puruse the official guidelines at your leisure.)

The first time I tried this challenge, when I was 16 or 17, I didn’t get far. About 6 months in, half of the items were determined to be either pointless or too outrageous for me to feasibly complete in the allotted time. So I gave up.

Fast-forward to January, when I managed to properly guess my old login info and found my old list. In the time since I started that list, I’ve completed a good number of the items, but there are many I still would like to do, like traditionally publish a novel.

So I buckled on my optimism, adjusted my “I’m an Adult” badge, and set up a new account. And then I had to come up with a new list.

101 things is a lot to come up with, by the way, especially if you’re like me and want things that are actually worthwhile or significant. Granted, some of those items are things like “get a worm bin” or “buy a station wagon”, but I assure you they are significant: composting will help me with my gardening, which I would like to extend to flowers next year (also on the list), and a station wagon will provide me with the ability to transport more people more safely than my current vehicle, in addition to being able to fit bikes and furniture and other large items inside when we need to. Oh, and roadtripping, of course.

You’ll notice I have a lot of items which start with “Learn”, and that is also significant. A personal goal is to spend the next couple of years gaining resources that will help me eventually reach the outrageous dreams I have for my life; resources like exprience, knowledge, skills, expanded limits, a better understanding of myself, and a station wagon. Because that’s important.

As I go, I am going to try to make a point of posting updates here, both to track my progress and to use the ever-powerful tool of accountability and peer pressure to stick to it.

So without further ado, here is the list, neatly divided into some semblance of order. There’s also a link under the “You can also find Phoebe on…” tab.


Self-Sufficiency and Simplification:

1. Put away $5 for each completed task

2. Have my emergency savings in place ($1-2,000.00)

3. Have 6 months’ living expenses in savings ($3,500.00 minimum)

4. Complete a No Spend Month (0/2)

5. Don’t eat out for a month

6. Buy a station wagon

7. Get a FitBit

8. Get contacts

9. Buy a new mattress

10. Get a worm bin

11. Start a beehive

12. Put in a proper flower garden

13. Can vegetables from the garden

14. Successfully harvest  my own vegetable seeds

15. Successfuly grow herbs

16. Distill my own essential oils

17. Keep a (non-succulent) houseplant alive for more than 6 months

18. Get rid of all of the clothes I don’t like/wear (0/2)

19. Try a capsule wardrobe

20. Update all of my passwords

 

Health and Self-Improvement:

21. Don’t complain about anything for a week

22. Fast

23. Complete a juice cleanse

24-26. (3 private goals related to my health)

27. Give up dairy for a month

28. Try a pescatarian diet

29. Floss every day for a month

30. Complete a Couch to 5k Challenge

31. Be flexible enough to touch my toes

31. Improve my posture

34. Improve my handwriting

 

Learn and Develop:

35. Develop better study habits

36. Take a free online class Learn shorthand

37. Learn ASL

38. Learn to speak Spanish at a conversational level

39. Learn the basics of graphic design

40. Learn to play an instrument

41. Learn to knit

42. Learn how to drive stick shift

43. Learn how to change my own oil

44. Learn how to make an origami crane

45. Study flower arranging

46. Learn to identify 10 constellations

 

Create and Cultivate:

47. Compile my favorite recipes

48. Learn how to make crepes

49. Make homemade pasta

50. Make tortillas

51. Bake my own bread

52. Make a candle or bar of soap

53. Make a Firefly-inspired piece of art

54. Paint a tiger

55. Learn watercolor painting techniques

56. Fill a sketchbook with drawings

57. Try writing haikus

58. Write a short story

59. Write 2 books in 1 calendar year

60. Join a critique group

61. Attend a writing conference or workshop

62. Enter a writing contest

63. Publish a novel

64. Read 50 new authors

65. Read 10 non-fiction books

66. Spend a whole day reading

67. Choose an author and read all of the books he/she wrote

 

Give Back and Encourage:

68. Write a letter to a favorite author

69. Send flowers anonymouosly

70. Send handmade cards (0/10)

71. Pay for someone else’s library fines

72. Leave an inspirational note inside a book for someone to find

73. Volunteer

74. Donate blood

75. Pay it forward (0/5)

76. Teach someone how to do something new

77. Take some of the junior high girls out to lunch

78. Make a list of 5 people who have positively influced me and write them letters

 

Explore and Venture:

79. Host a dinner party

80. Have a picnic in the forest

81. Take a road trip with friends

82. Compile my ultimate roadtrip playlist

83. Make a wall map of all of the places I’ve been

84. Find the hemlock grove

85. Try geocaching

86. Visit Utah

87. Visit an art museum

88. Stargaze through a telescope

89. Attend a professional musical (“Beauty and the Beast” is coming to our local art center next year….)

90. Eat at a nice restaurant by myself

91. Ride a Segway

92. Reupholster a chair

93. Put together an emergency pack for my car

94. Learn to curl my hair

95. Try a pixie cut

96. Find out my blood type

97. Get a manicure

98. (1 more private goal)

99. Document “a day in my life” in photos

100. Complete a 365 day photo challenge

101. Write a letter to myself to be opened when the 1001 days are over

Leave a Reply

