Phoebe Tries a Trend She Found on Tumblr

My tagline for this post was going to be “In which a blonde procrastinator with a penchant for clutter attempts to get by with only 36 pieces of clothing”. Then I started getting everything together to make this post coherent and realized what an accomplishment that was. The 36 pieces of clothing, not the questionably coherency.

“Wait, what?” you ask, squinting suspiciously. “36 pieces of clothing?”

Yes. Intros are the next thing I master.

Hem.

If there is one thing I dislike about my morning routine (what routine?), it’s deciding what to wear.

Yes, I like looking nice, and yes, I like wearing clothes I can feel comfortable and confident in. Over the past couple of years I’ve started finding my personal style, and my wardrobe is finally starting to reflect that. It’s not that I’ve ever really been one for trends, even when they don’t suit me; it’s just that my closet used to consist of clothes Mom picked up for me or ones I bought because they looked nice on the mannequin – or were cheap and semi-functional. It took me a while to realize the mannequin and I do not share a body type.

Then I came across this thing called a capsule wardrobe and-

Hey! Don’t leave yet, I haven’t finished!

Yes, this capsule wardrobe thing has become something of a trend lately, which I usually avoid as actively as I avoid popular books. But it has some selling points which really attracted me:

  1. The wardrobe has a limited number of items, which means each of those must be something you are willing to wear at any time and thus your entire wardrobe is your favorite clothes. No more icky elastic, awkward shoulders, and unflattering cuts for the sake of “style”.
  2. Additionally, given the limited number, every article of clothing must be able to work with every other article of clothing (ok, some say it much work with at least 3 other items).
  3. Given that everything can work with (nearly) everything else, you can grab things blindly in the morning and know you’ll still look at least decent. (This is also one of the main reasons I chopped my hair.)
  4. Because you have such a functional wardrobe, there’s less just cause for you to go clothes shopping.

Do I actually spend less time and stress picking out clothes in the morning?

Image result for liberty mutual commercial blah blah

Haha. Nope.

Here’s the thing: I still struggle with deciding what to wear in the morning. Now, however, instead of having to dig through my closet to find clothes I like that match, I have to choose between a collection of my favorite clothes, all up front and visible and begging to be worn.

But would it work any other way for me?

Even if I’m still not saving exorbitant amounts of time getting dressed, though, I’m now typically satisfied with my choice for longer than the time it takes me to walk to my car. Stressing out over what to wear seems like a serious waste of time and energy. To me, clothes should be practical, flattering, and no-hassle.

My first point of skepticism was the seemingly-small number of clothing and shoes allowed. I’m the girl who kept clothes in her closet simply because they’d earned me compliments at church; the girl who used to hate wearing clothes – either specific items or specific outfits – too often if I got complimented, because that would wear out their novelty. Because compliments.

Sad, I know. I’m working on it.

However, I’ve been dressing within the confines of a capsule wardrobe for almost a month and my boss still compliments my outfits like she hasn’t seen me wear these shoes a dozen times before. Even a few Fridays ago, when I hadn’t washed my hair in four days and I kept having to adjust my shrug, one of my coworkers told me, “You got style.” Dressing up for work has lost its novelty, but I still enjoy it.

As much as I like looking nice, I like true effortless style much more. I hate staring into a closet and trying to decide what to wear and if it works with anything else. I still don’t like spending a lot of time on my hair and make-up and I never paint my nails. My idea of a good morning routine in throwing on clothes, not needing make-up because my skin in clear, scrunching my hair, and leaving. Anyone want to guess how many times this has actually worked for me?

Thus the capsule wardrobe challenge (also on my Day Zero list): a legitimate way for me to indulge in the lazy slob that is most of my personality while not letting on to the people with whom I interact on a daily basis. Sure I was intrigued by the image of capsule wardrobes, but the selling point was that it was perfect for lazy people who don’t spend a lot of money on clothes. Only having to mix and match 30-odd items that I already own? After some consideration, my answer is yes, please!

Now I’m going to do something a little obnoxious for the sake of brevity (what’s that?): this topic will be split into three posts. Links to follow.

signature

One thought on “Phoebe Tries a Trend She Found on Tumblr

  1. I hate clothes shopping, period. I find something that fits and works (like a shirt) and buy one of every color they have available. Usually they’re online, so I don’t even have to go out anywhere, they just show up once I have surrendered the required money to purchase them. Capsule wardrobe seems interesting though and I might give it a go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

